Gold Sovereigns: Composition, Dimensions, Dates and Mint Variants

British full sovereigns, branch-mint issues and modern Perth Australian sovereigns • Updated 8 September 2026

A gold sovereign’s fineness is easy to state. Its complete composition is not.

The modern British sovereign is a 22-carat gold coin: nominally 91.6667% gold by mass. The remaining approximately 8.3333% is the part that requires closer attention. Silver and copper are not interchangeable additions, and the balance between them has not been constant throughout the sovereign’s history.

For dealers, numismatists and authentication specialists, the essential distinction is between gold fineness, complete alloy composition and the characteristics of an individual coin. A catalog entry that says “gold .9167” establishes neither an exact silver/copper recipe nor an identical acoustic response across all coins assigned to that entry.

This reference identifies the principal full-sovereign types, their date ranges and Numista IDs, and the composition distinctions supported by the cited evidence. Where a complete recipe has not been established, it is identified as such—not replaced with an assumed copper balance.

Scope and conventions

The core series is the British full sovereign introduced in 1817, including its historical branch-mint issues. Modern Perth Mint Australian $25 sovereigns are included separately.

Date ranges describe the bounds of a catalog type. They do not imply uninterrupted annual production or that every mint struck every date. Overlapping ranges are intentional where portraits or reverse types coexisted.

All composition percentages are by mass. “22ct” denotes the nominal gold standard; it does not certify the composition of an individual specimen. Small differences in catalog notation—such as .9166, .9167 and .917—are not, by themselves, evidence of different alloy formulations.

This is a type-level reference, not an exhaustive inventory of die varieties, privy marks, special finishes, patterns or every coin worldwide bearing the name “sovereign.”

Diameter and thickness: how to read the specifications

The Royal Mint gives 22.05 mm as the standard full-sovereign diameter. Its denomination reference does not state a numerical thickness. Consequently, the tables below reproduce catalog-reported dimensions from each linked Numista entry, rather than supplying a universal thickness or silently replacing every diameter with the modern nominal standard. means no thickness was established from that entry, not zero. Royal Mint: sovereign sizes and weights.

Mint-published dimensions provide these additional reference points:

Issue or referenceDiameter (mm)Thickness (mm)Source and qualification
Royal Mint standard full sovereign22.05Not statedDenomination reference; not an issue-by-issue tolerance schedule
Royal Mint 2024 Charles III proof22.05Not statedMint product specification; encompassing Numista N384653 reports 22 mm
Royal Mint 2026 gold proof22.05Not statedMint product specification
Perth Australian $25 sovereign, 202122.60 maximum1.90 maximumMint product specification
Perth Australian $25 sovereign, 202622.55 maximum1.90 maximumMint product specification

Maximum thickness, catalog thickness and the thickness of the coin’s central field are different descriptions. The source wording should be retained. An unspecified catalog thickness must not be treated as an independently verified rim measurement, manufacturing tolerance or uniform body thickness. Nor do entries rounded to 22 mm versus 22.05 mm, or 1.5 mm versus 1.52 mm, establish an intentional dimensional change.

Dimensional discrepancies requiring caution

A dagger in the tables flags a value requiring particular care:

  • Numista lists diameters of 22.5 mm for Sydney type I, 21.5 mm for the Australian young-head shield type, and 23 mm for the Australian Jubilee type. These are reproduced as catalog entries, not endorsed as proven departures from the sovereign standard. N24196, N24198, N28487.
  • For the 1920 Perth sovereign, Royal Mint gives 22.05 mm, whereas Perth Mint’s historical-coin product page gives 21.50 mm maximum. The discrepancy remains unresolved; it is not evidence that two diameter variants existed. Royal Mint 1920 P specification, Perth Mint 1920 specification.
  • Numista’s 1 mm thickness for Edward VII Ottawa sovereigns and 1.25 mm for Australian small-head George V sovereigns differ materially from other entries. Neither is presented here as a verified manufacturing change; measurement location and provenance need confirmation. N22058, N115428.

For specimen assessment, record the measurement method and locations as well as the result. A published catalog value is not, on its own, an authentication acceptance limit.

The alloy changes that matter

Sydney: the critical transition is within 1868

Early Sydney sovereigns were made from naturally silver-rich Australian gold. The Perth Mint’s historical account places the experimental introduction of Miller’s refining process at Sydney during 1868, with the change reflected in coins of that date. The relevant boundary is therefore metallurgical, not the later replacement of the Sydney reverse design.

For classification, distinguish early silver-rich issues, the transitional 1868 population and subsequent issues. These are historical groupings, not certified recipes for every specimen. In particular, the evidence does not justify describing the entire non-gold fraction of every early Sydney sovereign as pure silver. Perth Mint: the 1868 Sydney sovereign and refining.

The catalog consequence is important: Numista N6331 spans 1857–1870 and therefore crosses the transition. A coin’s Numista ID—and, for 1868, its date alone—cannot determine its complete alloy. Numista N6331.

London: historical gold was not one fixed binary alloy

Published first-hand XRF observations illustrate why “91.67% gold, 8.33% copper” should not be applied indiscriminately to historical sovereigns.

London specimen dateReported silver readingEquivalent mass percentage
181745 parts per thousand4.5%
185337 parts per thousand3.7%
19570 parts per thousand0% at the reported precision

These are measurements of selected specimens, not official recipes for the corresponding years. XRF characterizes the analyzed surface region; it does not establish a certified bulk composition for an entire issue. A reported zero is also not proof of absolute elemental absence.

Nevertheless, the observations are sufficient to reject two sweeping rules: that all historical London sovereigns were binary gold/copper alloys, and that negligible-silver alloys began only in 2000. Chards: original sovereign XRF analysis.

Royal Mint: 2026 is a documented modern boundary

The Royal Mint identifies 2025 as the final year of its rose-gold sovereigns and 2026 as the return to yellow gold. This is a documented product change and should be retained in professional classification. It is not a change from 22-carat to a different gold fineness.

The cited mint announcement does not establish exact silver and copper percentages. An equal split of the non-gold fraction should therefore not be presented as the official formula without a separate specification. Royal Mint: 2025 sovereign collection announcement.

The 2026 bullion and collector issues also have separate catalog entries: N526743 for bullion with security features and N531761 for proof and related special strikes. Their shared yellow-gold designation should not erase those product distinctions. Numista N526743, Numista N531761.

British sovereigns: type and composition reference

In the following table, “exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished” means that this reference has not identified a complete formula applicable to the whole catalog type. It does not mean that every coin within that type necessarily differs.

The linked Numista entries document catalog identity, date bounds and nominal fineness. They are not mint-issued alloy certificates.

Coin-date boundsFull-sovereign variantMintNumista IDCompositionDiameter (mm; catalog)Thickness (mm; catalog)
1817–1820George IIILondon1317122ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.5
1821–1825George IV, first type/St GeorgeLondon1318222ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221.5
1825–1830George IV, shieldLondon1318922ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221.5
1831–1837William IVLondon1280722ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22
1838–1874Victoria young head, shieldLondon576022ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.5
1871–1885Victoria young head, St GeorgeLondon152622ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22
1887–1892Victoria Jubilee headLondon1281622ct; exact balance unestablished221.5
1893–1901Victoria old headLondon402422ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.5
1902–1910Edward VIILondon1322622ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221.5
1911–1925George VLondon1146322ct; distinguish original strikes and restrikes22
1937George VI, proofLondon1334322ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22
1957–1968Elizabeth II, Gillick portraitLondon1146122ct; no complete series-wide recipe established22.051.5
1974–1984Elizabeth II, Machin portraitLondon then Llantrisant1281222ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
1985–1997, except 1989Elizabeth II, Maklouf portrait, proofLlantrisant1439322ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
1989500th anniversaryLlantrisant1438822ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
1998–2008, except 2002/2005Elizabeth II, fourth portrait, streamerLlantrisant1433222ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
2002Golden Jubilee, shield reverseLlantrisant1437222ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
2005Timothy Noad St George reverseLlantrisant1438422ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
2009–2015, except 2012Elizabeth II, fourth portrait, no streamerLlantrisant32593422ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.05
2012Diamond JubileeLlantrisant6001522ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
2015–2021Elizabeth II, fifth portrait, standard typeLlantrisant7268222ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
2016Butler portraitLlantrisant7988822ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
2017Garter anniversary typeLlantrisant10224322ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
2022Elizabeth II Platinum JubileeLlantrisant31271522ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.05
2022Charles III, Elizabeth II MemorialLlantrisant34694122ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.05
2023Charles III crowned, CoronationLlantrisant36371222ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221.5
2023–2025Charles III uncrowned, St GeorgeLlantrisant38465322ct; 2023 birthday special strike221.5
2025Hanoverian shield anniversaryLlantrisant43921922ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221.5
2026Charles III proof/special strikesLlantrisant53176122ct yellow gold; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.05
2026Charles III bullion, security featuresLlantrisant52674322ct yellow gold; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221.5

The 1887 London Jubilee issue merits particular care when investigating historical alloy claims. A recipe attributed to one year, mint or design must not be extended automatically to all Jubilee-head sovereigns. This reference does not assign an exact special recipe to the entire type.

Dates on coins are not always production dates

The best-known example is the London sovereign dated 1925, which was also struck in 1949, 1951 and 1952. An inscription of 1925 is therefore insufficient to identify the actual production year. Royal Mint: 1925 George V sovereign.

Other useful qualifications:

  • Gillick-portrait sovereigns were issued in 1957–1959 and 1962–1968, rather than every year in the overall range. Numista N11461.
  • Production of 1974-dated sovereigns continued into 1975 at Tower Hill; the 1976 issue belongs to Llantrisant production. A mint-location change is not itself evidence of an alloy change. Numista N12812, with references to Royal Mint annual reports.
  • The 2026-dated proof type was released in November 2025. Purchase year and coin date should not be confused. Numista N531761.

Historical branch mints and modern Indian issues

Mint marks identify production origin: S for Sydney, M for Melbourne, P for Perth, C for Ottawa, I for Bombay and SA for Pretoria. Modern Indian I-mark issues belong to a separate production era from Bombay’s 1918 sovereign.

A shared sovereign standard does not establish a documented, identical silver/copper balance across these mints. Conversely, a different mint mark does not prove that the alloy was different.

Coin-date boundsVariantMint / markNumista IDCompositionDiameter (mm; catalog)Thickness (mm; catalog)
1855–1856Victoria Sydney type ISydney2419622ct, silver-rich; exact balance unestablished22.5†1.52
1857–1867Victoria Sydney type II, earlySydney633122ct, silver-rich; exact balance unestablished22.051.52
1868Victoria Sydney type II, transitionSydney633122ct; transitional alloy population22.051.52
1869–1870Victoria Sydney type II, laterSydney633122ct, after refining transition; exact balance unestablished22.051.52
1871–1887Victoria young head, shieldS; M from 18722419822ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished21.5†
1871–1887Victoria young head, St GeorgeS; M from 1872931022ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
1887–1893Victoria JubileeS, M2848722ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished23†1.52
1893–1901Victoria old headS, M; P from 18991731722ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.051.52
1902–1910Edward VIIS, M, P1496322ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221.52
1911–1928George V large headS through 1926; M, P2207622ct; exact balance unestablished22.05†1.52
1929–1931George V small headM, P11542822ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221.25†
1908–1910Edward VIIOttawa C2205822ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221†
1911–1919George VOttawa C2205922ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221.5
1918George VBombay I4600122ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished221.5
1923–1928George V large headPretoria SA1104322ct; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.01.55
1929–1932George V small headPretoria SA27532Catalog says Au 91.67%, Cu 8.33%; mint-level confirmation outstanding22.01.55
2013–2015Elizabeth II fourth portraitModern India, I69009Au 91.67%, balance unknown22.05
2016–2020Elizabeth II fifth portraitModern India, I171393Au 91.67%, balance unknown22.05

A 1920 Perth sovereign, for example, belongs to N22076 and carries the P mint mark. Its nominal gold standard is established, but the linked catalog record does not establish a precise 1920 Perth silver/copper recipe. It should not acquire one merely by borrowing the specification of another 22-carat coin. Numista N22076.

For the 1929–1932 Pretoria type, the table preserves Numista’s explicit gold/copper formulation while identifying its evidence level. A catalog statement and an independently verified mint specification are different forms of evidence. Numista N27532.

Modern Perth Australian sovereigns are a separate series

“Perth sovereign” can refer to two different populations: historical British sovereigns struck at Perth, or modern Australian legal-tender sovereigns produced by the Perth Mint.

For its 2026 Australian $25 sovereign, Perth specifies 91.67% gold, a minimum gross mass of 7.988 g, and a maximum diameter of 22.55 mm. The cited specification does not disclose the silver/copper balance. Those dimensions and product identity must be retained rather than substituting a British sovereign specification. Perth Mint: 2026 Australian sovereign.

Coin-date boundsVariantNumista IDCompositionDiameter (mm; catalog)Thickness (mm; catalog)
2005Sydney 150th anniversary1737391.67% Au; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.61.9
2009–2012Coat of arms1738191.67% Au; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.61.9
2009Alternate coat of arms39224591.67% Au; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.61.9
2013–2018Subsequent coat of arms7690991.67% Au; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.61.9
2019Victoria bicentenary16056791.67% Au; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.61.9
2020First sovereign 165th anniversary21978091.67% Au; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.61.9
2021Elizabeth II 95th birthday30697091.67% Au; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.61.9
2022Platinum Jubilee332243Platinum-plated 22ct gold22.61.9
2024–2026Charles III, St George47854691.67% Au; exact Ag/Cu balance unestablished22.551.9

The 2022 issue is platinum-plated gold, not a bulk platinum sovereign. Its coating is a distinct feature that should remain in the description even though the underlying coin is 22-carat gold. Numista N332243.

No full-sovereign entries for 2006–2008 or 2023 have been verified for this table. A gap in the table should not be filled by assuming annual production.

What composition tells us—and what it does not

For professional use, three evidence levels should remain separate:

EvidenceWhat it establishesWhat it does not establish
Catalog finenessThe cataloged nominal gold contentA complete silver/copper recipe
Mint specification or historical mint accountThe stated formulation or documented production changeNecessarily the chemistry of every surviving specimen
Specimen analysisFindings for the analyzed coin and sampled regionA universal formula for its year, mint or portrait type

A defensible description may therefore be “22-carat gold; complete silver/copper balance not established.” That is more precise than supplying an unsupported numerical formula.

The same distinction matters for acoustic testing. Alloy composition can affect resonance, but an alloy label is not an acoustic reference on its own. Dimensions, mass distribution and the condition of the coin must also be considered. A shared nominal fineness is not sufficient grounds to assume a shared ping, and a change in catalog type is not proof of a measurable acoustic difference.

For authentication records, preserve the issuer, denomination, coin date, mint mark, design and finish, together with any documented production-era distinction. Treat analytical results as specimen evidence unless their applicability to a wider issue has been established. A ping result should be interpreted alongside other authentication evidence, not as a complete metallurgical assay.

Coins outside this reference

Fractional and multiple sovereigns, piedforts and pre-1817 hammered issues require separate treatment. So do sovereign-named coins issued by other jurisdictions.

The name alone does not guarantee either 22-carat gold or the mass of a British full sovereign. For example, Numista records Gibraltar’s 2002 boat-on-Thames sovereign at 37.5% gold and 6.22 g. It is not a standard British full sovereign despite its denomination. Numista N404059.

The professional conclusion

The sovereign is a durable monetary standard, not a single timeless alloy recipe.

Its principal types and mint origins can be cataloged with confidence. Some metallurgical boundaries—notably Sydney’s 1868 transition and the Royal Mint’s 2026 return to yellow gold—are documented. A complete year-by-year, mint-by-mint silver/copper schedule is not established by the sources cited here.

The sound reference practice is to preserve those distinctions: state the known fineness, identify the issue precisely, document the evidence for the alloy, and leave unsupported percentages unstated.

Back to Blog